About the Halesworth Gallery
Halesworth is an old Suffolk town whose
market was granted by King Henry III in 1223. The gallery occupies
what used to be the town's almhouses - lying alongside St Mary's
Churchyard - buildings mentioned in the Manorial Court Roll of 1478.
The Halesworth Art Gallery Association was
founded in 1966 by Jack and Sheila Arbuthnot with four other local
people: Mary Colby, Daniel Del-Rivo, Jennifer Dickson and Patrick
Roberts. The objective was, and still is, to 'exhibit modern painting
and sculpture of the highest possible standard on a non-profit-making
basis and for the general enjoyment of all; and, it is hoped, for the
benefit of the artists since all works are for sale'.
The gallery is run by a committee made up
of artists and local people interested in the fine arts. The shows
are supervised entirely by voluntary helpers. Part of the running
costs is met by 'Friends of the Gallery' who always welcome new
members. Early exhibitors included John Constable (a descendant),
Elisabeth Frink, Felix Topolski, Mary Potter and Joseph Herman.
Selection of artists for exhibition takes place in January each year
following advertisments in the national art press. The gallery shows
mainly the work of those artists who have a connection with East
Link back to
to List of all Artists showing at the Halesworth Gallery in